Gluten-Free Diet

Gluten is the protein part of wheat, rye, barley, and other related grains. Some people cannot tolerate gluten when it comes in contact with the small intestine. This condition is known as celiac disease. In patients with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, gluten injures the lining of the small intestine. This injury can result in weight loss, bloating, diarrhea, gas, abdominal cramps, and/or vitamin and mineral deficiencies. When patients totally eliminate gluten from their diet, the lining of the intestine has a chance to heal, and their symptoms improve as a result. Removing gluten from the diet is not easy. There are many gluten-free alternatives available.

Food Group Do Not Contain Gluten May Contain Gluten Do Contain Gluten
Thickening agents Gelatin, arrowroot starch, corn flour, germ or bran, potato flour, potato starch flour, rice bran and flour, rice polish, soy flour, tapioca, sago None Wheat starch, all flours containing wheat, oats, rye, malt, barley, or graham flour, all-purpose flour, white flour, wheat flour, bran, cracker meal, durham flour, wheat germ
Condiments Gluten-free soy sauce, distilled white vinegar, olives, pickles, relish, ketchup Flavoring syrups (for pancakes or ice cream), mayonnaise, horseradish, salad dressings, tomato sauces, meat sauce, mustards, taco sauce, soy cause, chip dips) None
Seasonings Salt, pepper, herbs, flavored extracts, food coloring, cloves, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, bicarbonate of soda, baking powder, cream of tartar, monosodium glutamate Curry powder, seasoning mixes, meat extracts Synthetic pepper, brewer’s yeast (unless prepared with a sugar molasses base), year extract (contains barley)
Prescription Products None All medicines, check with pharmacist or pharmaceutical company None
Meat or meat substitutes 100% meats (no grain additives), seafood, poultry (breaded with pure cornmeal, potato flour or rice flour), peanut butter, eggs, dried beans or peas, pork Meat patties, canned meat, sausages, cold cuts, bologna, hot dogs, stew, hamburger, chili, commercial omelets, soufflés, fondue, soy protein meat substitutes Croquettes, breaded fish, chicken loaves made with bread or breadcrumbs, breaded or floured meats, meatloaf, meatballs, pizza, ravioli, any meat or meat substitute. Rye, barley, oats, gluten stabilizers
Breads & grains Cream or rice, cornmeal, hominy, rice or wild rice, gluten-free noodles, rice wafers, pure corn tortillas, specially prepares breads, made with corn rice, potato, soybean, tapioca, arrowroot, carob, buckwheat, millet, amaranth and quinoa flour Packaged rice mixes, ready-to-eat cereals containing malt flavorings, cornbread Wheat, barley, rye
Fats & oils Butter, margarine, vegetable oil, shortening, lard Salad dressings, non-dairy creamers, mayonnaise Gravy and cream sauces thickened with flour
Fruits Plain, fresh, frozen, canned or dried fruit, all fruit juices Pie fillings, thickened or prepared fruit, fruit fillings None
Vegetables Fresh, frozen or canned vegetables, white and sweet potatoes, yams Vegetables with sauces, commercially prepared vegetables and salads, canned baked beans, pickles, marinated vegetables, commercially seasoned vegetables Creamed or breaded vegetables, those prepared with wheat, rye, oats, barley, or gluten stabilizers
Snacks & Desserts Brown and white sugar, rennet, fruit whips, gelatin, jelly, jam, honey, molasses, pure cocoa, fruit ice, carob Custards, puddings, ice cream, ices, sherbet, pie fillings, candies, chocolate, chewing gum, cocoa, potato chips, popcorn Cakes, cookies, doughnuts, pastries, dumplings, ice cream cones, pies, prepared cake and cookie mixes, pretzels, bread pudding
Beverages Tea, carbonated beverages (except root beer), fruit juices, mineral and carbonated waters, wines, instant or ground coffee Cocoa mixes, root beer, chocolate drinks, nutritional supplements, beverage mixes Postum, ‘Ovaltine’, malt-containing drinks, cocomalt, beer, ale
Soups Those made with allowed ingredients Commercially prepared soups, broths, soup mixes, bouillon cubes Soups thickened with wheat flour or gluten-containing grains, soup containing barley, pasta, or noodles